Philippine Bible Society

New Board of Trustees for Philippine Bible Society


PBS BOT 2012-2013 (l-r):   Bp. Evangelio Mercado, Atty. Jose Villanueva, Mrs. Leonila Cruz,  Dr. Natividad Pagadut, Ms. Joy Candelario, Bp.Renato Mayugba, Mr. Ramon dela Torre (seated l-r)  PBS General Secretary Mrs. Nora. G. Lucero, Mrs. Emmaloisa Salumbides,  Bp. Jonel Milan, Bp. Broderick Pabillo, Mrs. Guía del Rosario.

Some 318 members of the Philippine Bible Society gathered last April 21, 2012 to worship together and to attend its 47th Annual Membership Meeting. Keynote speaker during the event was Mr. Miguel ‘Mike’ Enriquez, Senior Vice President for Radio Operations Group of GMA Network who spoke on the role of media in Proclaiming God’s Word towards National transformation.
During the Business meeting, four members were re-elected and two new members were added to the Board of Trustees to fill in seats vacated by retiring members. The Executive Committee for 2012-2013 is composed of Bishop Broderick S. Pabillo, D.D. (Auxiliary Bishop of Manila) as President and Chairman; Vice President /Vice Chairman is Bishop Jonel R. Milan, National Chairman of the Philippine Ministerial Fellowship Network and Chief Justice Reynato S. Puno, (Ret.) Chairman of the Puno United Methodist Church as Corporate Secretary. Members-at-large are Mr. Albert Tanlimco and Mrs. Emmaloisa Malibiran-Salumbides. Those who will be serving their first term are: Atty. Gerard Mosquera, (PCGG Commissioner) lay representative of the Philippine Council of Churches in the Philippines and Ms. Jessica Joy Candelario, Youth Pastoral Coordinator of the CICM-Bukal ng Tipan Center, as  lay representative of the Roman Catholic Church.
The 18-member ecumenical Board of the Bible Society reserves five seats each for the major faith councils in the country—the Philippine Council of Evangelical Churches, National Council of Churches of the Philippines and the Roman Catholic Church, and three seats for independent churches. The PCEC representatives include: Bp. Joel Milan, Mrs. Emmaloisa Malibiran-Salumbides, Bp. Evangelio L. Mercado, Head Minister of the Zion Christian Community Church, Inc; and Mr. Ramon De la Torre (Chairperson, Church Council of Kamuning Bible Christian Fellowship) and Atty. Gerard Mosquera
Meanwhile, the Catholic representatives are: Bp. Broderick Pabillo, Bishop Renato Mayugba D.D. (Auxiliary Bishop of Lingayen-Dagupan), Dr. Natividad B. Pagadut (Executive Secretary, Episcopal Commission for Biblical Apostolate, and Catholic Bishops Conference of the Philippines), Atty. Jose Tale, Chairman of the Couples for Christ and Ms. Jessica Joy Candelario. The NCCP representation, on the other hand, include: Chief Justice Reynato Puno together with Bp. Nathanael Lazaro, General Superintendent of the IEMELIF Church, Dr. Rommel Linatoc, Program Secretary Christian Unity and Ecumenical Relations, Rev. Dr. Ruth Billena (Deputy Conference Minister, Lowland Cavite South Manila Conference). Mrs. Guia Del Rosario (President, Philippine Lutheran Women’s League); and
The Independent church representatives are Mr. Albert S. Tanlimco (CEO, Amtes Corporation); Atty. Jose P. Villanueva (Founder and Chairman, Shekinah Christian Unity Foundation) and Mrs. Leonila Cruz, Active member  of the Friends of Jesus Christ Ministries International, Inc.

I am a Bible Ambassador because I believe that the Bible can help people a lot. And knowing the Bible, people come in touch with the Lord Jesus Christ.

Most Rev. Broderick Pabillo, D.D.
Most Rev. Broderick Pabillo, D.D.Apostolic Administrator, Achdiocese of Manila

Gusto kong makipag-fellowship sa kanila, masaya sa Philippine Bible Society kapag may mga (membership) meetings.  Gusto ko rin madagdagan knowledge ko... yung opportunity makapag.distribute ng Biblia sa maraming tao at magamit ako ng Panginoon. Pangatlo ay yung ma.bless din ako and be a blessing to many people.

Ptra. Dolores “Loy” Fulgencio
Ptra. Dolores "Loy" FulgencioAnnual PBS Member

It's an honor and a privilege for me to support the Philippine Bible Society - to reach out to the unreachable people by giving Bibles not only in the Philippines but the whole world.

Ptra. Nina Vergara
Ptra. Nina VergaraAnnual PBS Member

“It is a blessing to be able to support our local churches in need of Bibles and Bible study programs. It is our hope that they not only grow in terms of membership but also have the heart to extend spiritual help to others, just like how they have received help.”

Ptr. Callum TabadaUCCP Cosmopolitan Administrative Pastor (AACP benefactor)

“We are thankful since each individual now has a Bible. Our members will no longer have a hard time reading. Thank you also for the discipleship materials for these will help all in getting to know Jesus and to know how to be a better Christian.”

Ptr. Eric BulanteChurch Pastor, Shepherd's Church in Hills of Zion, Talim Island (AACP beneficiary)

“Philippine Bible Society organizes trainings that really respond to the needs of people who are suffering.
It has well-equipped leaders who facilitate trainings and workshops.
Its mission to reach out to Filipinos using God’s Word is fulfilled through its works.”

Miriam del RosarioExecutive director at The Birthright Educators Foundation

“I praise and thank our Almighty God that, through PBS, I now own a Poimen version of MBB (Magandang Balita Biblia) in the national language of the Philippines – Tagalog.
Knowing Matthew 10:32-33, I read and study the Bible so that I will not be dismayed when the Lord Jesus Christ comes. Life is too short compared with the promise of eternal life in God’s Kingdom.”

Jorge BianesLocal Church Elder at LJOR Unified Commonwealth

I think this is very helpful to every readers. The word of the Lord are the food of our soul which we always need every minute of our life. I dont often read the Bible but everytime i open it, God was always like in front of me and speaking as what is something i'm just needing to hear. He speaks to me and i can feel it. A million thanks to You my Lord.

CrisTin Bocar AtregenioHousewife, Stay-at-home parent

I love the ministry of the Philippine Bible Society in sharing the Word to the world. God bless PBS!

Ganni BanzueloScripture Marketing Officer at Philippine Bible Society