Philippine Bible Society

Former Chief Justice Puno heads the Bible Society Board of Trustees


Retired Chief Justice Reynato S. Puno was elected President and Chairman of the 2014-2015 Board of Trustees of the Philippine Bible Society following his re-election as a Trustee during the Bible Society’s Annual Membership Meeting last Saturday, April 26, 2014.

Others elected to the Executive Committee were:

  • Bishop Noel A. Pantoja of the Conservative Baptist Association of the Philippines as Vice President and Vice Chairman,
  • Miss Jessica Joy V. Candelario of the Bukal ng Tipan Center as Corporate Secretary
  • Atty. Gerard A. Mosquera, Deputy Ombudsman  for Luzon, and
  • Atty. Jose P. Villanueva of the  Shekinah Christian Unity Foundation, as members.


Fresh additions to the PBS Board are The Most Rev. Pablo Virgilio S. David, D.D., and Chairman of the Episcopal Commission for the Biblical Apostolate (ECBA) of Catholic Bishops’ Conference of the Philippines (CBCP), and Bishop Joselito T. Cruz of the Iglesia Filipina Independiente, who will both serve a 3-year term.


Meanwhile, former Board member Mr. Lawrence Ty of the United Evangelical Church Manila rejoins the group after a hiatus of several years. On the other hand, Dr. Rommel Linatoc of the National Council of Churches in the Philippines, and Mrs. Leonila  T. Cruz of the Friends of Jesus Christ Ministries Int’l.  were re- elected for a second term.  They were sworn-in by outgoing PBS President and Chairman Most Rev. Broderick S. Pabillo, D.D., the Auxiliary Bishop of Manila.


Earlier that day, more than 200 members of the Bible Society gathered at the PBS Ministry Facility in UN Avenue, Manila to celebrate and fellowship through a Worship Service before electing six Trustees to replace those whose terms were expiring.


In the same meeting, PBS General Secretary Dr. Nora G.  Lucero reported the highlights of the Bible Society’s performance in the preceding year in terms of the organization’s five strategic directions:  scripture engagement, pro-active marketing, friend and fundraising, systems innovation and processes improvement, and, human resources development.


In her report, Dr. Lucero acknowledged PBS’s partnerships with individuals, organizations, groups, and churches that helped the Bible Society “tear down walls, build bridges, and pave the way for the advance of God’s Word.” “These opportunities (to partner) continue to kindle the fire that drives us to fulfill our mission to engage families to proclaim and live by God’s Word,” Dr. Lucero said.


The PBS has an 18-member ecumenical board composed of representatives from the Philippine Council of Evangelical Churches (five seats), the Roman Catholic Church (five seats), the National Council of Churches in the Philippines (five seats) and three from independent churches.


Currently serving as Trustees are: 


  • Rev. Dr. Ruth P. Billena,  Deputy Conference Minister, Lowland Cavite South Manila;
  • Mr. Ramon J. Dela Torre, Elder of the  Kamuning Bible Christian Fellowship, 
  • Dr. Cristina  N.  Maṅabat,  President, Harris Memorial College; 
  • Most Rev. Renato P. Mayugba, D.D., Bishop of Laoag;
  • Bishop Jonel R. Milan, National Chairman, Philippine Ministerial Fellowship Network; 
  • Dr. Natividad B. Pagadut, Executive Secretary,  ECBA-CBCP;
  • Mrs. Emmaloisa  M. Salumbides, National Coordinator, Peace Builders Ministry Commission on Peace and Reconciliation of Philippine Council of Evangelical Churches;
  • Atty. Jose T.  Tale, Executive Vice President, Sangguniang Laiko ng Pilipinas;
  • and President Emeritus, the Most Rev. Bishop Arturo M. Bastes, SVD, D.D, Bishop of Sorsogon.


1 Comment

  • Douglas Kleinhans March 18, 2019 10:52 am

    I am trying to locate a Jose Tale who went to Campbellsport High School in 1968. If Atty. Jose Tale listed above is that Jose Tale please ask him to contact me.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I accept the Privacy Policy

I am a Bible Ambassador because I believe that the Bible can help people a lot. And knowing the Bible, people come in touch with the Lord Jesus Christ.

Most Rev. Broderick Pabillo, D.D.
Most Rev. Broderick Pabillo, D.D.Apostolic Administrator, Achdiocese of Manila

Gusto kong makipag-fellowship sa kanila, masaya sa Philippine Bible Society kapag may mga (membership) meetings.  Gusto ko rin madagdagan knowledge ko... yung opportunity makapag.distribute ng Biblia sa maraming tao at magamit ako ng Panginoon. Pangatlo ay yung ma.bless din ako and be a blessing to many people.

Ptra. Dolores “Loy” Fulgencio
Ptra. Dolores "Loy" FulgencioAnnual PBS Member

It's an honor and a privilege for me to support the Philippine Bible Society - to reach out to the unreachable people by giving Bibles not only in the Philippines but the whole world.

Ptra. Nina Vergara
Ptra. Nina VergaraAnnual PBS Member

“It is a blessing to be able to support our local churches in need of Bibles and Bible study programs. It is our hope that they not only grow in terms of membership but also have the heart to extend spiritual help to others, just like how they have received help.”

Ptr. Callum TabadaUCCP Cosmopolitan Administrative Pastor (AACP benefactor)

“We are thankful since each individual now has a Bible. Our members will no longer have a hard time reading. Thank you also for the discipleship materials for these will help all in getting to know Jesus and to know how to be a better Christian.”

Ptr. Eric BulanteChurch Pastor, Shepherd's Church in Hills of Zion, Talim Island (AACP beneficiary)

“Philippine Bible Society organizes trainings that really respond to the needs of people who are suffering.
It has well-equipped leaders who facilitate trainings and workshops.
Its mission to reach out to Filipinos using God’s Word is fulfilled through its works.”

Miriam del RosarioExecutive director at The Birthright Educators Foundation

“I praise and thank our Almighty God that, through PBS, I now own a Poimen version of MBB (Magandang Balita Biblia) in the national language of the Philippines – Tagalog.
Knowing Matthew 10:32-33, I read and study the Bible so that I will not be dismayed when the Lord Jesus Christ comes. Life is too short compared with the promise of eternal life in God’s Kingdom.”

Jorge BianesLocal Church Elder at LJOR Unified Commonwealth

I think this is very helpful to every readers. The word of the Lord are the food of our soul which we always need every minute of our life. I dont often read the Bible but everytime i open it, God was always like in front of me and speaking as what is something i'm just needing to hear. He speaks to me and i can feel it. A million thanks to You my Lord.

CrisTin Bocar AtregenioHousewife, Stay-at-home parent

I love the ministry of the Philippine Bible Society in sharing the Word to the world. God bless PBS!

Ganni BanzueloScripture Marketing Officer at Philippine Bible Society